It’s who we are…It’s who I am.

More words; more meaning.

I am not in the entertainment business.  I do conduct regularly scheduled meetings of people bound together by similar interests.  There is music involved – speaking and listening – there is even an audience participation element (see music).  We follow reasonably strict schedules, I make use of electronic amplification – there is a seasonal light show.  There are undeniably theatrical elements in these gatherings, and no doubt, some of our number find these meetings mildly entertaining – even enjoyable…but I am not in the entertainment business.

I lead worship.  I am a minister of the Christian Gospel.  I offer sacramental and pastoral support to the gathered people of God in my communities, and I am weary (and wary) of the temptation to use entertainment to attract people to our endeavours.

Entertainment is something you choose because it lifts your spirits, and helps you forget your troubles (unless you are a…

View original post 354 more words

Leave a Reply

